top of page

Welcome Post

Hi there reader and welcome! This is my first post which is scary and exciting. Granted, this is not the first blog I've ever written. Oh no, actually this will be my second. However, the first blog I wrote was not mine, it was for a company that had a blog on their website. Which was an experience all on its own. I never had to come up with original ideas as they were pretty much spoon fed to me based on what the company was doing. Now I will be coming up with posts all on my own which is the scary part. Being a stay at home mom it wouldn't seem like there is much going on in my life outside of cleaning, cooking, my family, and afternoon talk shows but there is. That is the exciting part! Sharing all of this with you. So let's get this party started.

I'd like to start off my posts with what I am listening to. Try to set a mood for the post, give you an idea of what my mind set is, ya know? The song I've been listening to on repeat is Shut Up and Dance by Walk The Moon. It is an awesome song. If you haven't listened to it yet I highly suggest it. A great feel good song. If it isn't already, then it is sure to score a slot on some Rom Com or Coming Of Age movie soundtrack in the near future.

Let's get on todays topic: cooking. Tonight is garbage night so I try to use up as many leftovers from the past week as possible to create one meal. The guys have been eating a ton the past week, I'm starting to wonder if they're late entries into the hybernation games. This means I have to combine whatever is left in the fridge into one meal. We had some produce that was getting towards the end of its life, an open can of Pink Salmon that someone thought was cat food, and 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs. On top of it all, none of us could figure out exactly what we were in the mood to eat. "I don't care" was heard all around. Tapas it is!

Pink Salmon Stuffed Mushrooms

10 large mushrooms

2 celery stocks, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

2 radishes, diced

3 Tbsp butter

16oz can Pink Salmon

1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs

1/4 cup Grated Parmasian cheese

1 egg

Salt and Pepper to taste

Clean the mushrooms with a damp paper towel and remove the stems. Dice the stems, celery, red onion, and radish. Dump those into a pan with 1 Tbsp butter and cook until tender and light brown (usualy 5 minutes). Stir every so often so everything gets coated in the butter and browns evenly. Transfer to a mixing bowl. Add Pink Salmon and stir for even distribution.

At this point, give it a taste then add salt and pepper until satisfied because you shouldn't taste it after the egg has been added. (Remember the cheese will add a little saltiness to the mix) Add the bread crumbs, cheese, egg, and combine.

Use 1 Tbsp butter to coat a shallow baking dish. Arrange the mushroom caps on the dish and scoop a healthy spoonful of the stuffing mix on top. Slice the last tablespoon on butter and press on top of the caps.

Bake a 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until deep brown on the top.

I attempted to take a picture of them when they were finished however the guys didn't give me a chance. I'm sorry. I will tell you they were a huge hit. If you like a little spice add some Tabasco on top, gave it the perfect zing. I also made sausage filled cresent rolls but they were rather tame in comparison.

Until next time amigas, adios!

bottom of page