top of page

COTW: Pink And Black

It has finally warmed up here in the Burgh which meant that it was time to survey the gardens and see what happened to them after that frost. My Annuals were all fine but I lost two early risers, total bummer. Started off back to the house when I figured I'd check on my Mint patch, just to make sure they were fine, and to my surprise they were blooming early and strong! I was so excited, I made a cocktail with Mint in mind.

Pink And Black:

1.5 oz Vodka

1 oz Blackberry Syrup

2.5 oz Pink Grapefruit Juice

Dash Of Lime Juice

Garnish With Mint (use a toothpick)

Combine first four ingredients in a shaker with a cup of Ice. Shake well to combine and strain into a martini glass. Poke a toothpick through the base of the leaves and dangle it on the edge of the glass.

Now here's the kicker, before you take a sip of your cocktail dip the Mint leaves into it and suck on the leaves for a couple seconds to cleanse your palette and get a taste of Mint on your tongue. The drink is good on its own, doing this makes it great! I used Berries & Cream Mint but Pepper/Spearmint works too. So enjoy amigas and until next time, adios!

bottom of page