top of page

Spa Day On A Budget

Like I mentioned in my last post I helped my friend move last week. Fortunately she had only one room to move as she had been rooming with her sister for the past few years and didn't have any significant furniture except her bed. Unfortunately, my friend doesn't believe in moving boxes (more than half of her stuff was in shopping bags), we had two flights of steps to go up, and it was only the two of us moving. The steps were less than two feet wide and covered in ice. It took us four trips using my truck, we escaped without falling and without threatening to end our friendship. However within a few hours after coming home I knew I was going to be in serious pain the next day. With the little bit of energy I had left I whipped up some recipes and vowed to give myself a spa day.

Cucumber Lime Spa Water:

2 baby Cucumbers (or use 1/2 regular Cucumber)

1 Lime

4 cups Spring Water

Put Cucumbers and Lime in a carafe or pitcher and slightly muddle. Add Spring Water and let sit for at least three hours to allow the flavors to mix together. Serve on ice.

I also drink this the morning after. It is extremely refreshing. Sometimes I will use Sparkling Water if I have some on hand, that is a real treat!

Banana Hair Mask:

1 1/2 Bananas

3 tbsp Olive Oil

1 Egg

1/2 tsbp Lemon Juice

Blend Bananas with the Egg until creamy and smooth (if there are any chunks left over they will be next to impossible to remove from your hair). Whisk in Olive Oil and Lemon Juice. Set aside until room temperature then apply generously to hair. Wrap hair in towel and let sit for an hour. Shampoo out and condition as you regularly would. For short hair (chin length and above) halve the recipe. Discard any leftovers.

Bananas are excellent for dandruff and manageability. Egg is packed with protein for thickness and strength. Olive Oil is amazing for shine, as well as moisturizing. Lemon Juice is great for an itchy scalp (the kind that occurs after wearing a hat all day in the cold winter air).

Blueberry Honey Exfoliating Face Mask:

1/4 cup Fresh Blueberries

1 tbsp Honey

1 tsp Lemon Juice

Baking Soda

Blend Blueberries, Honey, and Lemon Juice together until the Blueberries are completely crushed. Squeeze liquid into a small bowl and refrigerate until cool. Mix in enough Baking Soda to create a paste. I prefer a thin paste but you may prefer a thicker paste. Apply to face, gently massaging in to exfoliate, leave on for 10-15 minutes. If you do not wish to exfoliate, skip the Baking Soda and apply the liquid to your face.

Blueberries contain many anti-oxidants for anti-aging benefits. Honey helps clear blemishes while the Lemon Juice lightens old scars. Baking soda makes an excellent natural exfoliant to remove dead skin. The result was smooth, clearer skin. Plus is smells great!

Chilled Cucumbers for Eyes:

2 slices Cucumbers

Aloe Vera Gel

Dip Cucumbers into Aloe Vera Gel and lay on a plate. Chill overnight and lay on your eyes. If you need an extra boost, freeze for a few minutes before laying on your eyes.

Aloe Vera soaked Cucumbers help to depuff and sooth red, inflamed eyes. I keep a few in the freezer for days when I look like a zombie. Just leave on for 5-10 minutes, remove, and massage the Aloe under your eyes.

Eucalyptus and Rose Foot Soak:

1/2 cup dried Eucalyptus Leaves

1/2 cup dried Rose Petals

1 cup Epsom Salts

4 drops Essential Oil of Choice

Using a grinder or Molcajete, grind the Eucalyptus Leaves and Rose Petals into a fine powder. Pour powder into a jar with the Epsom Salts, add Essential Oil, and shake well to combine. Dissolve in a hot foot bath.

The two scents combined create a relaxing environment and soothe aching feet. Soak feet for 20 minutes and then rub rough areas with a pumice stone.

Fragrant Bath Bombs:

1/4 cup Citric Acid

1/4 cup Corn Starch

1 cup Baking Soda

Massage Oil

Silicone Mold (I couldn't find mine so I used a plastic soap mold instead)

Combine first three ingredients into a bowl and whisk together. Slowly add massage oil while stirring until a paste is formed. Some bubbling may occur but do not allow it to bubble too much or it is ruined. Put paste into mold and push down until filled completely. Allow to dry over night. Add a couple to bath water.

Bath Bombs removes dead skin cells and cleans pores which is great for body acne. Use a relaxing scent for a comforting bath.

Note: I made all of this the night before so it all had time to settle. If you're going to make it that day give everything at least five hours to sit,

Total this took me about an hour to make everything. It was absolutely worth it for the results. My skin felt so smooth, my feet were no longer cramped, and my scalp finally stopped itching after I rinsed out the mask. I added some Spa Music on the Yoga Music album to help me a relax a bit too. Let me know how it helped you in the comments below! Until next time amigas, adios!

bottom of page