top of page

Painting Terracotta Pots

I was going through the Dungeon of Spiders (aka the crawl space) around the end of Summer last year and found a boat load of Terracotta pots the previous owner left behind. Let me give you a brief history of this women: accountant, who built this house so she could have enough room to garden everything she wanted and could. Towards the end of her life all she did was play golf and garden. We are the second inhabitants of this home and before I moved in I could kill fake plants nor could I hit a golf ball further than I could throw it. Now I'm doing both extremely well. Ever see Burnt Offerings? I have, which makes me nervous. So far no one has died and no ghosts have appeared so I think we're safe from that plot.

I decided the last time I spent $5 on a stingy, half dead packet of Cilantro at the grocery store that was the final time I was doing that. I was going to put up a little window herb garden in the Spring. What luck to have found all of these pots so I could save a good $20. However, the pots had been in the dungeon for goodness knows how long and they looked sad. Time for a makeover!

What You Need:

  • Terracotta Pots

  • Dish Soap

  • Acrylic Paint

  • Paint Brushes

  • Newspaper

  • Rag (to wipe excess water off of brushes)

  • Plastic Cups

  • Clear Spray Gloss

What To Do:

Wash your pots with a gentle Dish Soap (I used Dawn), rinse, and let air dry over night upside down. Lay down Newspaper and gather the rest of your materials. Paint rim of pot first then lay on top of upside down Plastic Cup (as shown in picture 3). Continue to paint, letting dry in between layers. Once you have your desired design let dry overnight. The next day, in a well ventilated area, spray two even coats of Clear Spray Gloss over all of the area that you painted (let dry beween coats).

Ta da! You're done! Now fill up your pots with whatever you desire. Here are some ideas for you to get started. Until next time amgias, happy painting. Adios!

bottom of page