top of page

COTW: Long Beach Watermelon Rum Runner

Watermelons hit out local store recently and after six months of going without I couldn't resist. HAD to get! Especially since it is the Tornados favorite fruit and he hasn't been too pleased with me recently (we're having talks about a later bedtime, he needs to improve his negotiating skills), figured this would be a nice peace offering. Since they were on sale 2/$5 for the small seedless ones, I grabbed one for him and one for me. Now he ate his entire watermelon in one sitting but I had different plans for mine.

While browsing the web for different runs for the Summer I came across one near Long Beach, CA called the Summer Soltice Watermelon Run. You run around Griffith Park (varies year to year) then at the end you get Watermelon. (Make that reasons #56382 that I want to move to CA) I decided to honor this delicious event with a cocktail.

Long Beach Watermelon Rum Runner:

1 cup Ice

1 oz Pineapple Juice

1 oz Orange Juice

1 cup fresh Watermelon

1 oz Light Rum

1 oz Dark Rum

Splash of Lime Juice

In a blender combine Ice, Lime Juice, and Watermelon. Blend until smooth and pour into a shaker. Combine with the rest of the ingredients and shake. Pour into a Tom Collins or Margarita glass and enjoy!

Simple enough, it is basically a Rum Runner I just switched out the Blackberry for Watermelon and the Grenadine for Lime Juice. It was a sweet and refreshing drink that hid the 2 oz of Rum so beware, it's a sneaky drink! Until next time amigas, adios!

bottom of page