top of page

How To Remove The Housing On A Perfume Bottle

My final post for Perfume Week is dedicated to the nozzle on my favorite daytime perfume "I Fancy You" by Jessica Simpson, which broke. I tried running the nozzle under hot water, I tried soaking it in alcohol, I tried pushing a pin down the stem. Nope, nuttin. This made me turn to Google to do a bit of research on the subject but found no other decent solutions. I had to think of other options, like throwing it against the wall in a fit of anger or smashing it with a hammer over a strainer and bowl. Neither of those options were very good, especially throwing it against the wall. What was I thinking, seriously? After I finally calmed down, I decided it was time to disassemble the bottle and hope for the best. It worked!

What You Will Need:

Pliers

Pipe Wrench

Funnel

Atomizer

Towel

Perfume Bottle

What To Do:

(left to right, top to bottom)

Lay towel down to protect any work surfaces. Remove cap. Pop off sprayer. Unscrew any decorative pieces (the closure). At this point you should see a clamped on piece that holds the stem in place. This does not unscrew on its own. Use the Pliers to pry up the metal housing all around the bottom edge. Grip the base of the bottle then use the Pipe Wrench to wiggle the metal housing off of the bottle. The neck of the bottle should break off easily in one piece (as shown in picture 4). Once this is removed, use the Funnel to transfer the perfume into the Atomizer.

Few Tips:

  • I had a bit leftover that didn't fit into my atomizer so I shook it up with some Baking Soda for a custom carpet freshener (picture 5). Now my entire house smells like my favorite perfume.

  • Be sure to check that the perfume housing doesn't just screw off from the bottle, in that case it wouldn't need to be broken off.

  • Do not try this with an extremely cheap or travel size bottle as the glass could be thin and shatter in your hand while youre gripping it to remove the housing.

May all of your perfume bottles spray evenly over their lives but if this does happen to you, give this a try. Until next time amigas, adios!

bottom of page